NoiseFloor began at Staffordshire University in 2010. Its aim is to showcase research and original works by international electronic music composers and performers. Early incarnations of NoiseFloor aimed to explore dialogue between popular and experimental music. While this theme continues, the event has expanded to reflect the research and artistic practice of current staff members.

Past incarnations of NoiseFloor have included paper sessions on a variety of topics related to the composition and performance of contemporary electronic music. While other years have involved only concerts, we now see paper presentations as a key component of the event.

NoiseFloor is also an opportunity for our undergraduate and postgraduate students to present their work. In 2017, following the relocation of the Music department to the University’s main campus in Stoke-on-Trent, the festival invited contributions from professional artists. Student concerts also featured and mirrored the strands of the professional events. It is hoped that this will help facilitate the development of an open and vibrant NoiseFloor community that links learning and practice-research.

Noisefloor2017: Acoustic Instruments & Electronics – Act 1

Previous contributors to NoiseFloor include:

  • BEER (Birmingham Ensemble for Electroacoustic Research)
  • Duncan Chapman and Isobel Jones
  • Rajmil Fischmann
  • Mark Harris
  • Jo Hyde
  • Ben McManus and Carl Plant (Bitjam)
  • Shelley Parker
  • Ben Ramsay
  • Thilo Schölpen und Robert Schleisiek
  • Andrew Spackman (Nimzo Indian)
  • Bill Thompson (Professor Lo-Fi)